Day Nine: Get Inspired By the Neighbors

Yesterday, you left comments. Remember how we asked you to remember where you left ‘em? We hope you did, because you’ll need one of them today.

Today’s assignment: write a post that builds on one of the comments you left yesterday. Don’t forget to link to the other blog!

I am fortunate enough to live in a suburban area within walking distance of a true urban treasure.

The Bois-des-Esprits (or Spirit Woods) is a protected forest in Winnipeg. 100+ acres along the Seine River of natural forest and wildlife. Other local bloggers, like Eden in Winnipeg, have done a beautiful job of promoting the trails.

Bois signage

For yesterday’s assignment, I commented on a more recent post featuring the Seine, complete with a toque cam walking video.

I believe the video is from a portion of the river closer to downtown, but the sentiment is the same. Winnipeg Living raves, “You gotta try it. It’s a different world down there.”

And it truly is. That’s why I write about the forest so frequently in my community paper column, and why my comment linked back to an article about a residents’ walking group.

It’s a different world down there.

Which brings me to another post that drew me in and drew my comment. Stop Waiting to Change was about active effort, about taking that first step towards being the person you want to be. Training yourself to meditate was a concrete example.

For me, the post spoke to a deeper meaning of personal awareness and growth. How we get in the way of ourselves with excuses and doubts, that ungentle inner voice chiding us, holding us back.

I thought about both posts for today’s assignment. It struck me, whenever I interview my neighbours about the Bois-des-Esprits, there is always a heartfelt word for how the forest affects them.

Just a few steps into the woods, and the harshness outside and inside us fades off. Down the path and around the corner lightens the shadows of depression, of grief, of loss. Moving towards the person you want to be.

It’s a different world down there.

DSC03541

One thought on “Day Nine: Get Inspired By the Neighbors

Leave a Reply

