The Bloggers Meetup

Blogging 101 over – now what?

I am excited to be part of an ongoing group called The Bloggers Meetup following the Blogging 101 course.

I want to share an experience I had yesterday afternoon to help encourage fellow bloggers.

In addition to blogging, I have a community correspondent column in our neighbourhood paper.

Sunday, I had every intention of spending the afternoon with our Blogging 101 community, finishing up my last assignments. The universe had other plans.

I had pitched (pun alert- wait for it…) a neighbourhood softball coach on an article featuring his volunteer role with a provincial championship team.

I thought I would be calling to set up an interview date and time in person. It was clear from the start the gentleman had no time other than the present to share his story. He has two daughters heavily involved in sports and a long history in professional baseball.

We talked for nearly an hour about his awesome group of young teens playing ball at an elite level. Many of the girls have played together on the same team for five years now.

I shared my softball experience from 30 years ago that I wouldn’t trade for the world. We covered topics like self-confidence, active living, and peer support. If there was a clock ticking in the back of my head at the start of our conversation, it quickly disappeared.

Chalmers
City Champs circa 1986. I’m 2nd from left in the front row. Put me in Coach, I’m ready to play!

So there was my lesson for the day – life will come along and appear to interfere with the precious time you have set aside for blogging. But there is a reason for everything.

Open yourself to those “blogging interruptions” and you may find inspiration.

3 thoughts on “The Bloggers Meetup

Leave a Reply

