Meet Your Maker

Do you ever wish you could meet the artisan that made something near and dear to your heart?  I have, and did last week.

I had the pleasure of assisting the hubs on a commercial photo shoot  at local jeweller Sutton Smithworks.

As the hubs was setting up, co-owner and goldsmith Tom Sutton approached me and asked to see my wedding ring. Per my Leibster Award post, my wedding ring is my most prized possession.

I removed my ring, handed it over, and commented “it’s a saddle-band.”

Tom’s bushy eyebrows shot up. “A saddle-band is very unique. Most people have no idea what that means,” he said.

He asked me if the ring was from Simon Imports. It was indeed.

“I made your wedding ring” he declared. “I cast it and made it. Simon sends almost all his work to me.”

Beaming, I immediately shook his hand and gave my thanks for his beautiful craftsmanship. Tom whisked away to his work room with my ring and my husband’s.

A few minutes later, he returned . “You’ve lost a bit of weight,” he said. “I’ve re-sized your ring, and cleaned it.”

I could not believe my eyes. After 15 years, my wedding ring looked like new. See the before and after for yourself.

Wedding ring  _MG_7536-Edit

 

 

 

 

What an incredible moment to meet the maker of the one object that means so much to me.

If you are looking for gorgeous, unique jewellery, visit Sutton Smithworks on Etsy.

One thought on “Meet Your Maker

Leave a Reply

