Family Jewels: The Next Generation of Sutton Smithworks Leaders

Proud to share my article and hope you enjoy!

Smart Biz

by Tanya Misseghers
Photo Credit: Flashbound Photography

Tom Sutton started working as a goldsmith at the age of 19.

Now, 38 years later, Tom and his wife Peggy are developing their young staff as the next generation of Sutton Smithworks leadership.

Assistant manager Holly Knight began her association with Sutton as a teenage client.

“In 2012, I needed a stone replaced in a ring. Every jeweller I visited treated me with disrespect,” said Holly.

“When I walked into Sutton Smithworks, they were like no jeweller I had ever seen before, including the one I was working for. I was treated like family. My small job mattered to them.”

“I started referring my customers to Sutton. A year or two later I was picking up repairs and Peggy asked me to come in for an interview. I thought my role would be purely retail or administrative. I was stunned that Tom and Peggy…

View original post 533 more words

Leave a Reply

